## AAUW General Membership Business Meeting June 13, 2024 Coppola's at Hyde Park, Dinner meeting

**Celia Serotsky**, President, welcomed and thanked members and guests for coming. Celia introduced the following guests:

Carol Griffith - AAUW - NYS President, and her sister, Joan Sherman

Suzanne Young-Mercer – AAUW – NYS President-Elect

Celia also announced that **Gwen Higgins** has decided to continue as DEI chair.

After dinner, the meeting was called to order by **President Celia Serotsky** at 7:49pm. Celia stated that the quorum of 10% was satisfied. She announced that delegates to the AAUW-NYS Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 29 are **Barbara Van Itallie, Diane Jablonski, Jackie Goffe-McNish, Pat Luczai, Gwen Higgins, and Celia Serotsky.** Celia invited everyone to attend the Open House on Thursday, September 12 at Freedom Plains United Presbyterian Church and to bring along anyone who may be interested in joining. A free membership will be raffled off to a new member who is interested in joining. Celia recognized and thanked the Annual Meeting Planning Committee: **Margaret Nijhuis, Barbara Van Itallie, Jackie Goffe-McNish, Barbara Hespenheide, Kay Saderholm, Michelle Miller, and herself** as chair.

Barbara Van Itallie introduced the entertainment of the evening: Actors Christine Crawfis and Catherine Rush from the CP2 Readers Theatre of Dutchess County, who presented three scenes about strong women.

After the entertainment, Celia then summarized her annual report, concluding with the following remarks: "This is such an exciting time to be a part of Poughkeepsie AAUW. I really believe that we are at a significant moment in our organization. We will reflect on the past 100 years, and we will plan and envision our next 100 years. It is such a wonderful time to be a member of this branch, and I hope you will find ways to participate in our endeavors."

### Minutes

Secretary **Beth DeFiglio** explained that the previous general business meeting was held on November 9, 2023, and the minutes, which were approved at the December board meeting, are on the AAUW Poughkeepsie website under Leadership/Minutes. As stipulated in the bylaws, the minutes from this meeting will be presented to the board for approval at the September meeting and subsequently posted on the website.

# **Treasurer's Report**

Treasurer **Diane Jablonski** reported total Assets of \$80, 500 in Investments and Checking. Almost \$12,000 is for Community Service Initiatives, and \$4700 are funds to be allocated. The Budget for the upcoming year is complete and approved by the Board. She encouraged any member to call her for more information.

# Nominations

Nominating Chair **Pat Luczai** announced that the Nominating Committee consisted of **Blanche Bergman, Mary Lou Davis, Maria DeWald, Betty Harrel, and herself** as chair. The following slate of officers have agreed to serve for the coming 2024-2026 term:

President: Celia Serotsky (2<sup>nd</sup> term) Secretary/Bylaws: Cindy Emmer Treasurer: Diane Jablonski (2<sup>nd</sup> term) Communications VP: Pat Luczai

Celia noted that this was a Committee report and needed no second. She asked the Nominating Chair if there were any nominations submitted a week before the vote as per the Working Rules. Chair **Pat Luczai** replied there was none. The President asked the Secretary to cast one vote for the slate, which Secretary **Beth DeFiglio** did. Celia asked members to vote by saying aye/nay/abstain. The slate was elected unanimously.

Celia then recognized the outgoing Board members:

Linnea Masson – multiple years as Interest Group Liaison

Beth DeFiglio – Secretary/Bylaws

Barbara Durniak – Communications VP

Celia noted that Beth would be continuing on the Board as Interest Group Liaison and Barbara as Co-Chair of the Centennial Committee with Cyd Averill.

Celia presented each incoming and outgoing officer with a rose. **Carol Griffith**, AAUW-NYS President, installed the new and continuing officers.

**Kay Saderholm** and **Gail Sisti** presented **Celia** with the Past President's Pin and thanked her for her leadership the past two years.

**Celia** recognized incoming Board member **Mary Scalise-Annis** as Nominating Committee Chair. She thanked the outgoing chair, **Pat Luczai**, for all her time and effort in chairing the committee.

### In Memoriam

Membership VP **Bonnie Auchincloss** presented a brief memoriam for AAUW members Christine M. Houghtaling and Sally Edwards Taylor, who passed in 2024.

#### Membership Honors

**Bonnie** presented the longevity awards that are based on the number of years a member has been part of our local AAUW branch:

10 Years: Bonnie Auchincloss, Beth DeFiglio, Elizabeth (Liz) Graham, Terry Jackrel, Linda Kinney, Irene (Renie) Milliken, Tori Smith, Jacqueline Sweeney, Mary Ann Williams
15 Years: Donna Fitzgibbons, Patricia Gullick, Judith (judy) Harkavy, Muriel W. Horowitz, Betsy Kopstein-Stuts, Sandy Lash, Jean Miller, Gail Simon, Jane Barber Smith, Carole J. Wolf, Miriam Zimet-Aaron
20 Years: Lynda Byrne, Patricia (Patty) Cerniglia, Geeta Desai
25 Years: Dorothy Evangelista
35 Years: Linda Freisitzer
40 Years: Helen Buhler, Catherine A. Lane, Barbara B. Markell
50 Years: Ellen Edgar, Peggy Kelland
52 Years: Erin Teichman
56 Years: Margaret Nijhuis
58 Years: Elizabeth (Betty) Harrel, Pamela Sadlier
60 Years: Mary King
61 Years: Lillian DePasquale

## Honors and Awards Barbara Hespenheide, Honors and Awards Chair, presented the following awards:

2024 AAUW Funds Honorees: Sandy Goldberg, Peggy Kelland, Linnea Masson, Margaret Nijhuis, Ann Pinna

2024 Emerging Leader Award: Beth DeFiglio

**Barbara Van Itallie** presented the 2024 Cornerstone Award to **Bonnie Auchincloss**, along with an engraved candy jar.

Celia Serotsky thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 9:11pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Beth DeFiglio, Secretary