Honors and Awards Annual Report May 2023 – June 2024 Committee Members: Cyd Averill, Barbara Hespenheide, chair, Mary Scalise-Annis and Barbara Van Itallie.

The committee met in October and selected honorees; their names were submitted to the Board for approval. Honorees Gifts to the AAUW fund(s), to be determined annually by the Board, will be given in honor of persons who have provided distinguished service to the branch. The awards may be designated in honor or in memory of the person. The selected honorees for the AAUW 2024 Funds are: Sandy Goldberg, Peggy Kelland, Linnea Masson, Margaret Nijhuis and Ann Pinna. We also honored Beth DeFiglio as our Emerging Leader. Paragraphs and pictures were solicited from each nominee, edited and submitted for the May newsletter. Certificates will be presented at the Annual Meeting in June. The Cornerstone Award was approved by the Executive Committee so that it is kept secret until the June Annual Meeting. A glass container was ordered from De's Jeweler in Poughkeepsie. A flyer will be given out at the Annual Meeting when the award is announced. Flyers from the Cornerstone Awards are linked to the names of the recipients on the website. Certificates are ordered from Prime Printing.

In January, members to judge at the D CC Science Fair were sought. Bonnie Auchincloss, Amy Matts and Vicki Greenberg agreed to help select a 7th and an 8th grade girl to receive Poughkeepsie Branch AAUW STEM Awards. They each received a \$50 dollar Barnes and Noble gift certificate. Certificates (ordered from Prime Printing) were given to the winners so they would know the award came from Poughkeepsie AAUW. A photo of the winners and write up of their entries were in the May 2024 BRANCH.

The chair serves on the Woman of the Year Committee as part of the position as Honor & Awards chair. The committee selected as the recipient, CaraMia Bacchiochi. As stated in the Working Rules, the recipient must be approved by the board before contact is made. The Executive Committee can do this if there is not time for the whole board. The Chair of Honors and Awards asks for this approval.

Marcine Humphrey is chair of the Irene Keyes Fund which gives scholarships for students to attend NCCWSL. The scholarship award winner will be announced at the May General Meeting.