AAUW General Membership Business Meeting June 8, 2023 Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, Dinner meeting

Celia Serotsky, President, welcomed and thanked members and guests for coming. She recognized the Planning Committee: Margaret Nijhuis, Barbara Van Itallie, Barbara Hespenheide, Kay Saderholm, Jackie Goffe-McNish, Monique Jones, and herself as chair.

Celia introduced the following guests:

Carol Griffith - AAUW - NYS President

Suzanne Young-Mercer – AAUW – NYS President-Elect

Melaine Rottkamp - Chairman of Dutchess Tourism, Speaker

Marcine Humphrey introduced **Maggie Gravano**, one of the recipients of the Irene Keyes Scholarship to the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders.

After the first course, the meeting was called to order by **President Celia Serotsky** at 7:06 pm. Celia stated that the quorum of 10% was satisfied. She announced that delegates to the AAUW-NYS Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 24th via Zoom are **Marcine Humphrey**, **Diane Jablonski**, **Sue Doyle**, **Beth DeFiglio**, **Linnea Masson**, **Kathy Friedman**, **and Celia Serotsky** and have been approved by e-mail vote of the Executive Committee of the Board. There will be an interesting program on Friday evening called "Inclusion Infusion" with Sue Shineman.

Celia then reviewed the year, concluding by asking members to actively support AAUW and help to continue the mission of "Advancing gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy".

Minutes

Secretary **Beth DeFiglio** explained that the previous general business meeting was held on November 10, 2022, and the minutes, which were approved at the December board meeting, are on the AAUW Poughkeepsie website under Leadership/Minutes. As stipulated in the bylaws, the minutes from this meeting will be presented to the board for approval at the September meeting and subsequently posted on the website.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer **Diane Jablonski** reported total Assets are \$77, 128.40. She encouraged any member to call her for more information.

Nominations

Pat Luczai, Nominating Chair, announced that the Nominating Committee consisted of Blanche Bergman, Mary Lou Davis, Maria DeWald, Mary Ann Williams, and herself as chair. The following slate of officers have agreed to serve for the coming 2023-2025 term:

Program Co-VP: Kay Saderholm Program Co-VP: Gail Sisti

Membership VP: Bonnie Auchincloss Membership Treasurer: Kathy Friedman

Development VP: Betty Harrel

Since no notice of intent to nominate from the floor was received by June 1st, there were no nominations from the floor and the slate was elected by acclamation. **Carol Griffith**, AAUW-NYS President, installed the new officers.

Celia then recognized the outgoing Board members:

Maria DeWald – Program Co-VP
Marcine Humphrey – Program Co-VP
Mary Scalise-Annis – Membership Co-VP
Sue Doyle – Membership Treasurer
Mary Lou Davis – Development VP
Margaret Nijhuis – Honors and Awards Chair

Celia presented each incoming and outgoing officer with a rose.

In Memoriam

Bonnie Auchincloss and **Mary Scalise-Annis**, Membership Co-VPs, presented a brief memoriam for AAUW members Eleanor (Lee) Swartz and Sarah Shouse, who passed during 2022.

Membership Honors

Bonnie and Mary presented the longevity awards which are based on the number years a member has been part of our local AAUW branch:

<u>10 Years</u>: JoAnne Abraskin, Blanche Bergman, Veronica Cavalla, Patricia DeLeo, Susan Doyle, Judith Fox, Freida Gershway, Barbara Breslow Glassman, Mara Goldstone, Sabashnee Govender, Carol Gray, Margaret Kasin, Marticia Madory, Iris Maron, Joyce Mongero, Patricia Tarquini

<u>15 Years:</u> Marge Barton, Karin Fein, Jacqueline Goffe-McNish, Eileen Mylod Hayden, Lynda Keech, Judith Lombardi, Leona Miller, Paula Reckess, Joanne Scolaro

20 Years: Eleanor Burch, Mary Coiteux, Elizabeth Devine, Geraldine Di Pompei, Gloria Gibbs, Patricia Luczai, Marilyn Walsh

25 Years: Rochelle DeWitt

30 Years: Diane Closs, Shaileen Kopec, Meg Ronsheim

<u>45 Years</u>: Mariellen Pangia <u>51 Years</u>: Erin Teichman <u>55 Years</u>: Margaret Nijhuis

57 Years: Elizabeth Harrel, Pamela Sadlier

59 Years: Mary King

60 Years: Lillian DePasquale

Honors and Awards

Barbara Hespenheide, standing in for **Margaret Nijhuis**, Honors and Awards Chair, presented the following awards:

2022 AAUW Funds Named Honorees: **JoAnne Abraskin, Susan Doyle, Elizabeth Harrel, Claudette Hennessy, Gwendolyn Higgins, Marticia Madory**

The 2022 Cornerstone Award was presented to Patricia Luczai.

Program speaker:

Barbara Hespenheide introduced Melaine Rottkamp, CEO and President of Dutchess County Tourism.

Celia Serotsky thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 9:16 pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Beth DeFiglio, Secretary