AAUW General Membership Business Meeting June 9, 2022 Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, Dinner meeting

Monique Jones, president, welcomed the members to this our first in-person Annual Meeting since 2019. She thanked the members and guests for coming. She made a few announcements mentioning the 50th anniversary of Title IX and Oaxaca Week to be held in Poughkeepsie this summer.

After the first course, the meeting was called to order by **President Monique Jones** at 7:00 pm. There were 41 members present which satisfied our quorum of 10%. Monique announced that delegates to AAUW-NYS Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 25th are: Bonnie Auchincloss, Maria DeWald, Sue Doyle, Jackie Goffe-McNish, Marcine Humphrey, Sandy Lash and Celia Serotsky and have been approved by the board. She gave a brief report of the year and invited all to read the reports from the board and initiatives that are on the website for an excellent overview of the year. Monique concluded by saying: "I cannot close without emphasizing the awe I feel for the great work that comes out of this volunteer-based organization. It's been my true pleasure to have served as your branch president these past two years and I would like to thank you for your support."

Minutes

Margaret Nijhuis explained that as stated in our bylaws the minutes from the previous general business meeting which was held on November 11, 2021 were referred to the board, approved at the December board meeting and are on the AAUW Poughkeepsie website under Leadership/Minutes. Minutes from this meeting will be presented to the board for approval at their September meeting and subsequently posted on the website.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer **Pat Luczai** reported on the Financial Position as of June 8, 2022: Total Assets are \$81653.00. For the current fiscal year starting July 1, 2021, Total Revenue is \$32,294.78 and Total Expenditures are \$21,075.88.

Pat reported a total of \$8,845.43 has been received from all sources – contributions and grants. The budget was presented as approved by the board with the request that any questions be directed to Pat.

Nominations

Betty Harrel, Nominating Chair, presented the following slate of officers for election:

President: Celia Serotsky

Communications VP: Barbara Durniak

Treasurer: Diane Jablonski Secretary/Bylaws: Beth DeFiglio

Monique Jones stated that there had been no other nominations and asked that the Secretary cast one ballot for the slate. **Barbara Van Itallie**, AAUW-NYS Treasurer, installed the new officers.

In Memoriam

Mary Scalise-Annis, Membership Co-VP, presented a brief memoriam for AAUW member, **Margaret Lombardi**, who passed during 2022.

Membership Honors

Bonnie Auchincloss and **Mary Scalise-Annis**, Membership Co-VPs, presented the longevity awards which are based on the number years a member has been part of our local AAUW branch:

<u>10 Years</u> Mary Ann Boylan, Cori Cumming, Sharon Fleury, Linda Lurie, Vicky Marrone, Eleanor Maslinoff, Marta Newkirk, Stephanie Pyrek, Erica Salzmann-Talbi, Marlene Straus, Elizabeth Villanti, Ellen Zelig

<u>15 Years</u> Lula Allen, Stephanie Capichioni, Ellie Charwat, Ruth Gau, Gwen Higgins, Susan Holland, Janice Humbert, Wendy Maragh Taylor, Emily Moran, Saranne Ratner, Linda Roberts, Ruth Sheets, Ann Smith, Sherre Wesley, Greta Woo

<u>20 Years</u> Linda Beyer, Jeanne Henderson, Marcine Humphrey, Judy Linville, Carol Loizides, Ginny Marcus, Carole Peterson

25 Years Karleen Dorn

30 Years Laura Graceffa, Roz Werner

45 Years Barbara Hespenheide

50 Years Erin Teichman

50+ Years Lillian DePasquale, Mary King, Betty Harrel, Pamela Sadlier, Margaret Nijhuis

Honors and Awards

Margaret Nijhuis, Honors and Awards Chair presented the following awards:

Emerging Leader Award: Celia Serotsky

2022 AAUW Funds Named Honorees: Catherine Albanese (In Memoriam), Blanche Bergman, Cathy Kinn, Judy Longacre, Vivian Rose and Mary Ann Williams

2022 Cornerstone Award was presented Diane Jablonski

Board Introduction

Monique Jones asked that all take note of the appointed and off-board member that are listed in the program and asked those present to stand.

Board 2021-2022

President: Celia Serotsky

Program Vice Presidents: Maria DeWald and Marcine Humphrey

Membership Vice Presidents: Bonnie Auchincloss and Mary Scalise-Annis

Development Fund VP: Mary Lou Davis
Communications VP: Barbara Durniak*

Secretary/Bylaws: Beth DeFiglio* Treasurer: Diane Jablonski*

Membership Treasurer: Sue Doyle

Appointed Board Positions

Community Service Liaison: Mary Ann Boylan Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: Gwen Higgins

Historian: Marge Barton

Honors and Awards: Margaret Nijhuis Interest Group Liaison: Linnea Masson

International Relations Chair: Newsletter Editor: Cyd Averill

Nominating Committee Chair: Pat Luczai

Past President: Monique Jones

Public Policy Chair:

Public Relations Chair: Betty Harrel

Appointed Off-Board Positions

Assistant Newsletter Editor: Philippa Goodman

Assistant Secretary: Kay Saderholm Communications Assistant: Joanne Scolaro

Database Manager: Claudette Hennessy and Darlene Yerdon

Facebook Manager: Mary Coiteux

Keyes Fund/NCCWSL:

Photography Comm. Chair: Bonnie Auchincloss State/National Liaison: Barbara Van Itallie Technical Support: Bonnie Auchincloss

Website Editors: Cyd Averill, Barbara Durniak, Margaret Nijhuis and Joanne Scolaro

Monique Jones thanked the Board for being willing to serve. She also thanked those leaving positions on the board:

Lula Allen: Mothers Project Kay Bishop: Mothers Project

Kathy Friedman: Assistant Newsletter Editor Betty Harrel: Nominating Committee Chair

Barbara Hespenheide: Historian Monique Jones: President

Pat Luczai: Treasurer

Jacqueline Goffe-McNish: Public Relations Chair

Margaret Nijhuis: Secretary/Bylaws

Sheila Zweifler: Community Initiatives Liaison

Interest Groups 2022-23

Our nineteen interest groups provide programs and events each month for their members. They are a vital part of our organization.

All those books...: Carol Loizides Art on the Go: Mary Coiteux Adventures en Soleil: Terry Jackrel

Bridge I: Patty Cerniglia Bridge II: Sandy Goldberg Canasta: Barbara Cohen

Contemporary Literature: Linda Freisitzer, Ann Wade Cuisine Group: JoAnne Abraskin, Blanche Bergman Daytime Literature: Susan Fink, Kathy Friedman

Gourmet: Out & About: JoAnne Abraskin, Mary Ann Boylan

Mah Jongg: Blanche Bergman

Manderley Literary Society: Shelley Friedman

Pedal Pushers: Pat Luczai

Pins & Needles: Pat Luczai, Mary Ann Williams

Poetry & Play Readings: Maria DeWald, Jackie Sweeney

Reely Together: Jackie Vierno

Trekkers: Tori Smith

Word Games: Sharon Fleury

World Travelers: Bonnie Auchincloss

Community Service Initiatives 2022-23

We are proud of the accomplishments of our initiatives and the services they provide.

Court Watch: Ann Pinna

Days for Girls: Sabashnee Govender and Judy Longacre

Extending Girls' Horizons: Peggy Kelland

Leading to Reading: Betty Harrel Math Buddies: Barbara Van Itallie

Events 2022-23

Annual Meeting: Celia Serotsky & Committee

Monthly Programs: Maria DeWald, Marcine Humphrey Open House: Bonnie Auchincloss and Mary Scalise-Annis

Woman of the Year: Mary Lou Davis & Committee

After the main course the evening continued.

Program speaker: Monique Jones introduced Dr. Lucia Cherciu, Dutchess County Poet Laureate

When dessert was finished the program ended.

Closing

Monique Jones thanked everyone for attending and wished them a good summer and welcomed the new president, **Celia Serotsky**. Celia thank the incoming board and Monique for her 2 years of service as president. **Mary Scalise-Annis** presented the President's Pin to Monique.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:15 pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Margaret Nijhuis, Secretary