AAUW Poughkeepsie Branch, Inc. Honors and Awards Annual Report June 2021 – June 2022

Committee Members: Margaret Nijhuis (Chair), Betty Harrel, Sandy Lash and Diane Jablonski

The committee met in October and selected honorees, their names were submitted to the Board for approval. Note: before selecting nominees the chair should be sure that money has been donated to AAUW Funds so that there is \$500 for each honoree. That will determine the number of awards that can be given.

The selected honorees for the AAUW Funds are Catherine Albanese (In Memoriam), Blanche Bergman, Catherine Kinn, Judith Longacre, Vivian Rose and Mary Ann Williams. The Committee selected Celia Serotsky as our Emerging Leader. Paragraphs and pictures were solicited from each nominee, edited and submitted for the April newsletter. The pictures and final paragraphs were sent to the nominees for approval. I spent some time trying to find out to whom these names should be submitted. As the names honorees are no longer kept by AAUW-NYS nor National. I made certificates to be presented at the Annual Meeting in June.

The Cornerstone Award will be given to Diane Jablonski. This is kept secret until the May board meeting and announced to the membership at the June Annual Meeting. A vase was ordered with inscription from Things Remembered. I have made a flyer to be given out at the Annual Meeting when the award is announced. I found the flyers from the others years when the Cornerstone Award was given and they have been linked from the names on the website.

In February, members to judge at the DC Regional Science were sought. Bonnie Auchincloss, Claudette Hennessy and Kay Saderholm agreed to help select a 7th and 8th grade girl to receive the award from Poughkeepsie AAUW. They will each receive a \$50 dollar Barnes and Nobel gift certificate. The certificates were left over from the canceled science fair in 2020. We gave the award an official name Poughkeepsie Branch AAUW STEM Award. I made certificate to give the winner so they would know the award came from Poughkeepsie AAUW. There were no 8th grade girls participating so only the 7th grade award was given.

I served on the Woman of the Year Committee as part of my position as Honor & Awards chair. The committee selected Jody Miller as the recipient. I did the flyer for publicity, the program for the event and name tags. It was a very successful event with over 70 attendees.

Marcine Humphrey is chair of the Irene Keyes Fund which gives scholarships for students to attend NCCWSL but since they are still holding the conference virtually our funding is on hold.

As no budget line seemed to exist for Honor& Awards, I listed the expenses that I had encountered and submitted them to the Treasurer. They are a part of the budget for the 2022-23 fiscal year.

Margaret Nijhuis Chair of Honors and Awards