# AAUW General Membership Business Meeting June 10, 2021 Zoom Meeting

The meeting was called to order by **President Monique Jones** at 7:01 pm. Monique spoke for a few minutes about the year and welcomed Carol Griffith, AAUW-NYS board liaison to Poughkeepsie. She thanked the members for coming and for their help and support during the year. There were 44 members present which satisfied our quorum of 10%.

#### **Minutes**

Margaret Nijhuis explained that as stated in our bylaws the minutes from the previous general business meeting which was held on November 12, 2020 were referred to the board, approved at the December board meeting and are on the AAUW Poughkeepsie website under Leadership/Minutes. Minutes from this meeting will be presented to the board for approval at their September meeting and subsequently posted on the website.

# Treasurer's Report

Treasurer **Pat Luczai** reported on the Financial Position as of June 3, 2021: Total Assets are \$72,124.03. For the current fiscal year starting July 1, 2020, Total Revenue is \$21,854.59 and Total Expenditures are \$18,225.31.

Pat reported a total of \$5,238.30 in contributions has been received from all sources as well as donations with the membership renewals.

#### **Nominations**

Betty Harrel, Nominating Chair, presented the following slate of officers for election:

Program Co-VP Maria DeWald
Program Co-VP Marcine Humphrey
Member Co-VP Bonnie Auchincloss
Member Co-VP Mary Scalise-Annis
Development VP Mary Lou Davis

Secretary/Bylaws Amelia Roger (1 year term)

Membership Treasurer Susan Doyle

Betty Harrel stated that there had been no other nominations and asked that the Secretary cast one ballot for the slate. **Betty Harrel**, AAUW-NYS Past-President, installed the new officers.

#### In Memoriam

**Sheila Zweifler**, Membership Co-VP, led those present in a Moment of Silence for AAUW members who passed during 2020-2021, namely, **Catherine Albanese and Diana Gleason**.

# **Membership Honors**

Mary Scalise-Annis, Membership Co-VP, presented the longevity awards which are based on the number years a member has been part of our local AAUW branch:

<u>10 Years</u> Kay Bishop, Barbara Cohen, Susan T. Davis, Carol DeMicco, Barbara Donegan, Katherine Friedman, Vivian Garber, Shirley W. Granda, Honorah F. Hinkle, Ruth Kava, Carol Loizides, Kathleen Mantaro, Sheryl Miller, Anthula Natsoulas, Vivian Rose, Suzi Stoller, Gail Watson and Sheila Zweifler

**20 Years** Joanne Pinello Kaley

30 Years Cynthia Smith

40 Years Christina Houghtaling

**55 Years** Betty Harrel and Pamela Sadlier.

#### **Honors and Awards**

Marge Barton, Honors and Awards Chair presented the following awards:

Emerging Leader Award: Barbara Durniak

2021 AAUW Funds Named Honorees: Monique Jones, Marcine Humphrey, Sandy Lash, Mary Scalise-

Annis and Sheila Zweifler.

## **Board Introduction and Thank-you**

**Monique Jones** presented the incoming board, elected and appointed, as well as the off-board members.

# Board 2021-2022

President: Monique Jones

Programing Co-VP: Maria Dewald and Marcine Humphrey Membership Co-VP: Mary Scalise-Annis and Bonnie Auchincloss

Development VP: Mary Lou Davis Communications VP: Barbara Durniak Secretary/Bylaws: Amelia Roger

Treasurer: Pat Luczai

Membership Treasurer: Sue Doyle

#### **Appointed Board Positions**

Community Service Initiatives Liaison Sheila Zweifler Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Comm. Chair Gwen Higgins

Historian Barbara Hespenheide
Honors and Awards Margaret Nijhuis
Interest Group Liaison Linnea Masson
Newsletter Editor Cyd Averill
Nominating Committee Chair Betty Harrel
Public Policy Celia Serotsky

# **Appointed Off-Board Positions**

Assistant Newsletter Editor
Assistant Secretary
Communications Assistant
Database Manager

Kathy Friedman
Kay Saderholm
Joanne Scolaro
Claudette Hennessy

Facebook Manager Mary Coiteux

Keyes Fund/NCCWSL Marcine Humphrey Photography Committee Chair Bonnie Auchincloss

Public Relations Chair Jacqueline Goffe-McNish

State/National Liaison Barbara Van Itallie
Technical Support Bonnie Auchincloss

Website Editors Margaret Nijhuis, Joanne Scolaro, Cyd Averill,

and Barbara Durniak

**Monique Jones** thanked the Board for being willing to serve. She also thanked those leaving positions on the board:

Development VP

Honors and Awards

Past President

Program VP

Secretary/Bylaws

Lula Allen

Marge Barton

Diane Jablonski

Sandy Lash

Margaret Nijhuis

Community Service Liaison Vivian Rose

Membership VP Sheila Zweifler

# **Speaker**

**Monique Jones** introduced **Lisa Maatz**, former AAUW Vice President of Government Relations and Advocacy, as our guest speaker. She provided a "Washington Update" to the delight of all present. She shared her knowledge of how Washington works and AAUW's role as a non-partisan organization but having priorities about which they inform and educate.

## Closing

Monique Jones thanked everyone for attending and wished them a good summer.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:36 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Margaret Nijhuis, Secretary